Located on the second floor in the Police Department
Pistol Purchase Permits (License to
Purchase – LTP)
Pistols may be purchased directly from a licensed gun dealer
without obtaining a LTP. You MUST apply for a LTP a pistol if
any of the following apply:
- Purchase of a pistol from an individual who is not a
licensed gun dealer
- A pistol is registered in another state, but the owner
of the pistol is moving to Michigan
- The pistol is inherited
Requirements to obtain a LTP:
18 years of age (to purchase from a private
citizen in MI) or 21 (to purchase from a federally licensed
Valid picture identification
US citizen or
Resident Legal Alien (must show I-551 card)
Must not be otherwise legally prohibited from
owning or possessing a firearm
(i.e.: felony conviction; assault conviction)
All applicants will have a clearance check completed,
regardless of the number of times they have applied previously.
LTP applications will be processed, and permits issued, with due
speed and diligence, as required by state law.
There is no fee for a License to Purchase (LTP). One
permit is needed for each weapon.
Concealed Pistol License (CPL)
Michigan Concealed License Application Kits which are available
at the Command Desk in the main lobby of the police station.
application is processed by
1200 North Telegraph, Pontiac
For more information, call
at (248) 452-2194 or
visit the Michigan State Police website.
Non-criminal / applicant fingerprinting is done by
the Department’s Records Section. A fee of $20 is charged for
the first two cards; additional cards are $5 each. A fee of
$64.75 is charged for applicant fingerprints that are required
to be submitted to the Michigan State Police and Federal Bureau
of Investigation electronically via LiveScan. You need not be a
resident to obtain this service. No appointment is necessary.
Fingerprinting services are available Monday though Friday 8:30
The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Office in Detroit
requires that prints be taken by them for U.S. immigration
purposes (follow instructions given in packet).
Obtaining Copies of Reports
Copies of incident reports and traffic accident reports may be
obtained through the Records Section, Monday through Friday 8:30
AM -4:00 PM. Reports are generally
available 48 to 72 hours after the incident or accident occurred.
In order to obtain a copy of a report, either the requestor’s
name must appear in the report or a notarized authorization must
be presented. Contact the Records Section for further
$5 for pages 1 - 3
$1.50 per page for pages 4 - 10
$1 per page for pages 11 and up
Accident reports are $5
Accident Reports On-Line
Effective September 1, 2009, copies of traffic accident
reports (UD10s) became available on the Internet. For a small
fee, reports may be obtained by visiting
Records/Police clearances are conducted on adults only and will
with the City of Farmington Hills. A person requesting a clearance
on anyone but themselves must have a notarized authorization from
that person. Fee for a Records/Police clearance is $10, Monday through Friday 8:30 AM-
A request for a “Criminal Conviction History” can be made
through the Michigan State Police.
Visit the Michigan State Police website and click on the ICHAT
tool for more
Michigan State Police
Criminal Justice Information Center
7150 Harris Drive
Lansing, MI 48913
The Alarm Billing Ordinance is designed
to hold accountable the relatively small percentage of
businesses and homeowners who were responsible for generating
approximately 20% of the Police Department’s annual
calls-for-service. False alarm response continues to be a
significant drain on department resources. Without this
ordinance, the vast majority of Farmington Hills citizens would
have to subsidize this alarm response, without benefit.
The Alarm Billing Ordinance provides for levying fees, based
upon the number of false activations at a location during a
See City Ordinance for Fee Assessments.
These fees are designed to cover the cost of sending two
uniformed officers in two marked patrol cars to a false alarm.
They do not consider the administrative costs of maintaining the
billing system. Fee waivers are possible if strict ordinance
compliance measures are met.
The Alarm Billing System is managed by a Record Section
employee, dedicated to that task, who monitors the alarm
registrations, false alarm tracking by account, waiver requests,
verification of emergency information, correspondence and other
duties required to keep the system operating efficiently and
effectively. There are currently in excess of 5,000 alarms
registered, with an additional 1,000 registrations added or
amended each year.
The Alarm Billing System Ordinance requires that all alarm
users register their system with the Police Department. A
registration form can be completed and printed from the link
below. The completed form may either be mailed or hand delivered
to the Police Department Records Section. A $15 registration fee
must be paid at the time of registration. Contact the Records
Section at (248) 871-2726.
Alarm Registration Form
Alarm Registration Form